2011 12/10

The official journal of the European Union published names of 16 Belarusian officials banned from entering the EU.

Their assets in the EU will be frozen.

Valery Kamisarau, Uladzimir Stsiapurka, Siarhei Khrypach, Vasily Nazaranka, Volha Kamarouskaya, Viktoryiya Zaitsava, Tamara Unukevich, Ihar Krot, Uladzimir Khrobastau, Liudmila Ihnatovich-Mishneva, Siarhei Yarmalitski, Aliaksandr Kavaliou, Uladzimir Paluyan, Uladzimir Karnou, Maksim Shastakou, Volha Herasimovich were added to the list.

They are judges and prosecutors involved in “political” cases and governmental officials, BelaPAN news agency reports.

A decision to expand the list of Belarusian officials subject to visa ban was taken at a meeting of the EU foreign ministers in Luxemburg.

The EU Council imposed sanctions on the Belarusian authorities in January 2011 in response to a brutal suppression of a demonstration in Minsk after the presidential elections on December 19, 2010. The blacklist includes 192 Belarusian officials.

On September 21, the Lithuanian MFA initiated imposing ban to enter Lithuania on 18 Belarusian civil servants and called on other EU countries to put them on national blacklists.

Source: charter96.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *